Page Index Toggle Pages: 1 Send TopicPrint
Normal Topic Warlock Aura Build questions. (Read 9128 times)
vageta31
Korthos Resident

I Love Drama!

Warlock Aura Build questions.
Aug 13th, 2015 at 6:31pm
Print Post  
I'm fairly new to DDO, about a month playtime, and after trying a handful of different classes(paladin, barb, sorc, warlock) I've really fell in the love with the warlock. Regardless of how "op" or "not really op" they are, I'm having a blast playing them. That said I've mostly been playing the pewpew style, using the bursts and spells like evard's, disco ball, etc.. I have a GOO Drow pure warlock 20 and a Fey Bladeforged lock/pali 18/2(17/3).

I really want to mess around the a more aura focused build but I'm having trouble deciding how to go about it. From what I've gathered and experimented with there are 3 basic ways to play an aura build. 1. Supplement your aura damage with melee while bursting. 2. Focus on a burst/spell rotation(easier in Epic it seems). 3. Grab heavy armor and a shield and just block while things pile up on you and burst them down as they refresh. I guess my questions revolve around how viable these builds/tactics are in epic and what sort of multiclass can benefit them without losing too much warlock.

Apparently evasion tanks used to be the thing, but now PRR/MRR and heavy armor is king. Using some ASF enhancements and gear it seems doable to reduce it to 5% or even 0%, but the ES tree gives bonuses to MRR based on light and heavy armor, giving nothing to heavy armor. I messed around with 3 levels of paladin using sacred defender to maximize my PRR/MRR but after doing some excel numbers it didn't really seem that much more compared to all that I was losing in lock.