Page Index Toggle Pages: 1 Send TopicPrint
Normal Topic Solasta (Read 725 times)
iGouger
Ex Member

Solasta
Jul 6th, 2022 at 11:46am
Print Post  
Over the weekend, I started playing Solasta, a game which I picked up on the Steam summer sales. Holy shit is it good.

When I first started DDO some 12 years ago, I was under the impression that I would get a fairly authentic tabletop experience, translated to the PC screen. Even 12 years ago, this wasn't exactly the case (although I would argue that 2010 DDO was a lot closer to Pen & Paper than 2022 DDO is).

But Solasta is far closer to tabletop than DDO ever was, and I consider that a very good thing. In Solasta, you can fully customize an adventuring party of 4 characters, from several classes: Cleric, Paladin, Fighter, Rogue, Ranger, Wizard, Sorcerer, Druid and Barbarian (the last two are DLC I think). Things like vision, elevation, line of sight, and cover actually matter - think "XCOM Enemy Unknown mechanics, but with tabletop D&D and all the goodness that entails."

It's so refreshing to see AC actually matter. My fighter has 18 AC and he feels almost untouchable; compare that to DDO, where 18 AC was never ever good lol. Resource management via rest spots and stuff like that actually matters.

Oh yes, there's also supposedly multiplayer co op, although I haven't touched that yet. I'm about 10 hours into the single player campaign.

Just thought I'd mention this here in case anyone's been on the lookout for a more authentic tabletop experience. And also to maybe solicit thoughts/opinions from anyone else who's played Solasta.

IP Logged

Standing Stone Games
Abbot Raider

I Love DDO & LotRO!

Re: Solasta
Reply #1 - Jul 6th, 2022 at 12:02pm
Print Post  
Hmmm...I'll take a look.

My wife and I are looking at other games but we want something we can play together.

Maybe this is it.

We invite you to explore our games, which hold the promise of depth, scope, and unlimited imagination!