Page Index Toggle Pages: 1 [2]  Send TopicPrint
Normal Topic Possible renown fix coming (Read 8476 times)
Dark_Helmet
Wielder of the Schwartz

I hate you!

Re: Possible renown fix coming
Reply #25 - May 20th, 2016 at 12:31am
Print Post  
Frank wrote on May 19th, 2016 at 4:18pm:
I live in one of the highest paid areas of the US, and still <$100k gets you a competent DBA.

Those are some crappy- er average DBAs that would be working under the senior level.   My senior staff DBAs didn't make less than $100K. they worked on projects world wide. This means stuff got done quickly, tried the puppy DBAs (your crappy ones) and they moved on.

All they have to do is bring in a competent consultant. Problem is that they don't know what competent means.

IP Logged

Frank
Puppy Farmer

I Love Drama!

Reply #26 - May 20th, 2016 at 1:00pm
Print Post  
There's a difference between competent and senior level.  And then another difference between either of those and incompetent.

I'm a consultant, I work on projects for lot of different companies and government agencies.  So I see a lot of different environments.  I'm often part of a project that either my company is not the prime on, or (especially in government where they have to meet requirements for minority owned, woman owned, small business, etc.) we were required to sub out parts.  Or rely on the company or agency to provide resources which are not a part of the project.

So I can't always pick my personnel, and I often have to deal with what I get.  I know the rate of anyone where my company is the prime, and I know for a fact that I've had many DBAs on staff who were paid under $100k.  And they were all competent, even if not senior level.